Posts Tagged ‘Spinnaker Tower-thon’

Spinnaker Tower, 530 steps, Portsmouth

2010 Mark Sims (GBR) 2:18**
2011 Mark Sims (GBR) 2:23** Sarah Wade (GBR) 4:52
2014 Mark Sims (GBR) 2:32 Karen Elphick (GBR)
2015 Matjaz Miklosa (SVN) 2:07* Jasmina Klancnik (SVN) 3:30
2016 Mark Sims (GBR) 2:29 Chiara Cristoni (ITA) 3:56 – results
2017 May – Mark Sims (GBR) Sarah Frost (GBR)
October – Mark Sims (GBR) 2:25 Sarah Frost (GBR) 3:01* – results

*course record
** 2010 and 2011 races were run on a shorter course of 506 steps

Find out all the winners from other events around the world in our historical tower running results database.

The UK Tower Running Championship Series continues this coming Sunday (11th Oct) with a race at Portsmouth’s renowned Emirates Spinnaker Tower.

Emirates Spinnaker Tower, Portsmouth

Emirates Spinnaker Tower, Portsmouth

The sprint race, which covers 530 steps, was won in 2014 by Mark Sims in a time of 2.32 who will be back this year vying to retain his title and add to his impressive second place finish at the Gherkin last month. Also in the mix this year will be “The Slovenian Multi-Tool” Matjaz Miklosa. Currently ranked 8th in the world, and coming off the back of a solid sprint performance last weekend in Graz, Austria, Miklosa will be hotly tipped to push Sims to the limit.

The unique stairs inside Emirates Spinnaker Tower

The unique stairs inside Emirates Spinnaker Tower

The disappointing absence of Rich Sirrs, clear winner at the Gherkin, means there is now potential for the UK championship to be blown wide open. The Orchard Park Stair Running Club athlete would have been hotly fancied to take one of the top spots and secure his current position at the top of the UK Championship Series table.

After one race the championship table currently looks like this:

UK Tower Running Championship Series

  1. Rich Sirrs                   40
  2. Mark Sims                  32
  3. Alex James Ward       26
  4. Lawrence Needham   22
  5. Daniel Sirrs                 20
  6. Mark Wallace              18
  7. Jay Kilshaw                 16
  8. Patrick Gallagher        14
  9. Michael Johnston        12
  10. Thomas Fox                 10

Good luck to everyone racing in Portsmouth on Sunday.

Keep climbing!